Coffee Shop Characters: The Breakfast Club

November is my favourite month of the year. It’s the month of fireworks, of seeing your breath in the air and, of course, it’s the true start to the hot chocolate season; it’s cold enough to justify wearing as much knitwear as humanly possible, and the leaves finally begin to crunch instead of disintegrating beneath your feet in the wetness of October – the perfect weather in which to warm up with a mug of liquid chocolate in the window seat of your favourite coffee shop.

I’ve always wanted to open a coffee shop of my own – one that doubles up as a cinema and bookshop, pairing characters to drinks: instead of asking for a thick, warm hot chocolate, you’d have to order a Lupin, or request a Kevin McCallister for a white hot chocolate. I love comparing characters (and actual people, too) to drinks, and it’s something I’ll be writing about on a monthly basis from now on.

What better way to start than with one of my favourite films? It’s also one that just so happens to be a universally loved classic: The Breakfast Club.

I imagine that Bender would be a bitter drink that’s hard to stomach for the most part, like cheap, instant coffee – to be taken black but with lots of sugar.

Claire, for me, is definitely a skinny chai latte. Apart from the fact that this is one of the more expensive drinks available in chain stores like Costa Coffee, it is also immensely popular, and understandably so: the drink’s distinct flavour comes from a range of subtle spices  as well as a certain sweetness, and there’s something very Claire about the cinnamon sprinkled on top.

Although I don’t think he’d appreciate the comparison, I imagine Andrew as a mocha latte: the milky, comforting sweetness of the chocolate takes some of the kick out of the coffee.

Brian’s drink would definitely be comforting and milky, but with surprising warmth and depth. I suggest a whole milk steamer with almond extract, vanilla and nutmeg. Alternatively, a lightly spiced but still milky and sweet hot chocolate could do the trick.

Allison was the most difficult character to match to a hot drink, as it’s hard to separate her from the Coca Cola we see in the film. That said, I can imagine her pouring vodka, gin or whiskey into black coffee and topping with cream.

For a festive twist (as it’s only 53 days to go!), a peppermint steamer would be perfect for Brian, with candy cane steamers for Andrew and Claire. Allison and Bender would definitely share something with a kick – like a pair of flaming Spanish coffees perhaps.

(The brandy would be lit by Bender using the standard match-against-the-teeth method, of course.)

If you have any suggestions for my next character drink review please let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Loved this. I missed your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve missed posting! Been really busy settling back into university but ready to start posting properly again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel you, university is killing me this semester!

        Like

Leave a Reply

