Coconut Hot Chocolate: A Recipe

This year’s summer season has been a mixture of extreme heat and heavy storms, and I’ve found what I hope is the perfect summer hot chocolate, but with an extra surprise: this weekend, my good friend Dahlia and I combined our knowledge of baking and hot chocolate to create different flavour pairings, so I bring you not only hot chocolate, but hot chocolate with a side of baking.

I can sing nothing but praise for Dahlia’s baking (check out her instagram for more pictures!), and I was really excited to work with her. Not only is she one of my closest friends, but she’s also a genius both inside the kitchen and out. Using her recipe, we made lemon and poppyseed muffins with a lemon curd filling, as well as my dairy free coconut hot chocolate.

The muffins were absolutely gorgeous – they were light and moist, with just enough lemon to strike the balance between being too tart and too sweet. I’d definitely make these again, and I think the summery flavours worked really well together overall. The coconut hot chocolate was mild and sweet, like the muffins, and the fact that it’s dairy free made it so much lighter.

This recipe yields 2 mugs.

Coconut Hot Chocolate

Serves 2

Ingredients

100g creamed coconut

400ml boiling water

40g dark chocolate

1.5 tbsp cocoa powder

1-2 tbsp caster sugar, to taste

pinch of desiccated coconut

optional: 50ml/1 liberal shot coconut rum per mug

Instructions

Add the creamed coconut and boiling water to a saucepan and dissolve.

Stirring continuously, add in the chocolate, cocoa powder and sugar and heat gently until small bubbles begin to appear at the edges.

Pour into two mugs. If using rum, stir in now.

Sprinkle on desiccated coconut and enjoy!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Fatimah Badawy says:

    YAAAAS

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fatimah Badawy says:

    Sorry for unprofessional burst — I’m just a big coconut fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Coconut is the best!! Everyone should be a big coconut fan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. munchkinontheroad says:

    Good Lord, this sounds delicious. I am going to enjoy your blog for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’ve been looking through your blog and I can definitely say the same!

      Like

  4. munchkinontheroad says:

    Reblogged this on On the Road Cooking and commented:
    Another great WordPress blog to enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog and most of all for letting me discover yours! 😀 I hope you don’t mind if I reblog this wonderful recipe 🙂

    – Andy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s absolutely fine, I really liked your hot chocolate recipe! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great!
        Thanks – but I think this beats it!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on veganchocolove and commented:
    I just had to share this one with you!
    What better way to start your Sunday morning? Cheers! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

