Chilli Hot Chocolate: A Recipe

Adding a touch of spice to hot chocolate takes it back to its Aztec roots, and to a drink of a rather familiar name – ‘xocolatl’. The age old combination of chilli and chocolate fuses together earth and fire to make a chocolate that is powerfully dark. The first flavour that hits you is intense and bitter, followed by fiery heat a few seconds later, right in the back of your throat.

I absolutely love this hot chocolate – it started out as something purely experimental, but turned out so well that I had to record exactly how I’d done it. Before I go on to the recipe, this is just a quick note on the chocolate:

I used Montezuma’s chilli chocolate, which I came across when it was on offer in my local Sainsbury’s. It certainly packs a punch and contains 72% cocoa solids – and it’s name is reminiscent once again of the Aztec origins of spiced hot chocolate. It’s around the same price as the Lindt version, and although I love both, Montezuma’s comes out on top for hot chocolate. Not only does it contain a higher cocoa content, but is much stronger in flavour – which means that when it’s combined with other ingredients, it becomes more subtle, but it still gives you that kick a few seconds later. I fear that the flavour of the Lindt chocolate would be lost almost entirely.

If Montezuma’s chocolate isn’t available to you, I’d suggest using a dark chocolate and adding chilli to taste.

This recipe yields one small mug, as the end result is sufficiently rich and powerful that you don’t need a lot of it.

 

Chilli Hot Chocolate

Serves 1

Ingredients

175 ml milk (if you’re looking for a substitute, I’d suggest unsweetened almond milk – but do not use water)

1 tsp cocoa powder

2 tsp icing sugar

15 g chilli chocolate

Instructions

Break the chocolate into small pieces and add to a small pan with the milk, stirring continuously on a low heat.

Add the cocoa powder and icing sugar one teaspoon at a time (the order doesn’t matter), continuing to stir.

When the chocolate is melted and all ingredients combined, continue to gently heat until small bubbles form at the edges and the mixture has thickened slightly.

Pour into a mug and enjoy!

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Pan says:

    Yummmmm…

    Have you ever tried cashew milk ?
    It’s creamier than almond milk and to me has a better flavor..
    But for this recipe, I’m using whole milk !

    Like

    1. No I haven’t actually! I will definitely look into it. Almond milk can certainly be a little watery so that sounds like a great alternative – I’ll have to do a post about different types of milk!

      Like

Leave a Reply

